Kenmare ND - Features

Real People. Real Jobs. Real Adventures.

Kenmare News









Thanks for reading some of the latest features about area people and events.  

To view every page and read every word of The Kenmare News each week,
subscribe to our ONLINE EDITION


Kenmare and Berthold elect city officials

Some of the faces will change on the Kenmare City Council, following the June 12th elections.

6/20/12 (Wed)

By Caroline Downs

The faces will change on the Kenmare City Council, following the June 12th elections.

Christian Standard was newly elected to an open seat with 152 votes. Tori Kling was also newly elected to an open council seat with 158 votes.

Incumbent Troy Hedberg was returned to his position, with 192 votes.

All three council members will serve four-year terms.

The ballot also drew 22 write-in votes for city council positions.

Current municipal judge Kurt Heninger was returned to that two-year position with 197 votes. Four write-in votes were recorded.

For the Kenmare Park Board, incumbent Dennis Heidel received 187 votes, while DuWayne Gilseth received 190 votes. Both men will continue their service on the board.

Voters overwhelmingly approved a measure requiring publication of the city council’s minutes in the officially designated newspaper, with a 226-25 margin.

Berthold city council
Berthold’s city council will welcome two members. With 87 votes, Steven Ibach was elected to a term on the council, along with Nathan Fegley, who received 86 votes.

Incumbent city councilmen Jay Brown and Robert Inman received 53 and 41 votes respectively. Three write-in votes were tallied.

Joel Hansen was elected to the Berthold Park Board with 113 votes, as was Neil Schwope with 108 votes.

Berthold voters approved publication of their city council’s minutes by a 125 to 15.

Ward County
In the Ward County Commissioners race, five candidates vying for three position will advance to the general election in November.

Alan Walter received 7,076 votes, followed by incumbent Jack Nybakken with 6,136, Shelly Weppler with 4,546, incumbent Bruce Christianson with 4,086 and former commissioner Jim Lee with 4,058.

Strong showing for
state representative Froseth
Incumbent state representative Glen Froseth of Kenmare, who has served from District 6 until redistricting action taken last year by the state legislature moved northern Ward County into District 4, easily won the Republican ballot. Across the district, which extends from north of Kenmare through Mountrail County into Dunn County, Froseth collected 1,473 votes, with 19 write-in votes on the Republican side.

The incumbent District 4 representatives, Democrats Kenton Onstad and Tom Conklin, received 1,022 and 861 votes respectively on their party’s ballot.

Froseth was popular among Republican voters in Ward County, where he received 737 votes. Among District 4 Democrats in the county who voted in the primary election, Onstad received 367 votes and Conklin had 336.

All three candidates will advance to the general election ballot in November, where two representatives will be chosen.